Hamburger Cupcakes

20120807-224324.jpg
I saw these in the bakery at Target and just had to try them! It’s a yellow cupcake cut in half and then decorated with frosting to look like a hamburger.
Items needed:

20120807-224716.jpg
I made the cupcakes just like the box said. I cooked them without cupcake papers. After they cooled I cut them in half with a bread knife. I made a batch of Wilton’s decorating icing.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar (approximately 1 lb.)
2 tablespoons milk
Beat until fluffy.

I split the frosting into 4 bowls. You need lots of brown and smaller amounts of green, red and yellow. I used cocoa powder to make the “pattie” chocolate flavor but I still had to add brown coloring to get dark brown. Here are the tips I used:
Brown-hamburger #12
Green-lettuce #67
Red ketchup-#230
Yellow mustard-#3

20120808-072002.jpg
Start by putting green lettuce squiggles coming out in two or three places. Second, I went around the edge with a thick brown ring. Next, top with ketchup and mustard. I squeezed the ketchup down over the brown so it looked like it was dripping. The mustard was kind of orangey, it could be melted cheese too. The mustard was the smallest tip because burgers have more ketchup and just tiny squirts of mustard. You can’t really mess these up. I am just a kid and don’t have great cake decorating skills and mine turned out fine.

20120808-073046.jpg

20120808-073107.jpg
The best part is the sesame seeds. I put the seeds on a plate and turn the cupcake tops over and pushed them into the seeds. They stuck great but my cupcakes seemed sticky. You could wet the top and then push them on if needed. Place the hamburger bun on top of the frosted part and enjoy one sweet burger.

One comment

  1. Frannie Simpson · · Reply

    Love it!

    Like

Show some love and comment

